Actions

Difference between revisions of "Backup entire database"

From LimeSurvey Manual

Line 16: Line 16:
 
<!--T:3-->
 
<!--T:3-->
 
This backup is recommended when you wish to:
 
This backup is recommended when you wish to:
* [[Transferring an installation|transfer your LimeSurvey installation]] to another server;
+
* [[Transferring an installation|transfer your LimeSurvey application]] to another server;
* [[Upgrading from a previous version|upgrade your LimeSurvey installation]] (non-ComfortUpdate solution).
+
* [[Upgrading from a previous version|upgrade your LimeSurvey application]] (non-ComfortUpdate solution).
  
 
<!--T:7-->
 
<!--T:7-->
Line 23: Line 23:
  
 
<!--T:4-->
 
<!--T:4-->
This option is also used when changes on different settings (e.g. in the code) are done. You secure in this way your data in the case in which the installation breaks up.
+
This option is also used when changes on different settings (e.g. in the code) are done. In this way, you secure your data in case the installation breaks up.
  
 
</translate>
 
</translate>

Revision as of 15:52, 8 June 2018

Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎日本語 • ‎Nederlands

General

If you would like to upgrade your LimeSurvey installation or transfer it to another location/server, we highly recommend you to back up all your data (questions, participants, responses, etc.). You can use the Backup entire database function for this purpose.


Backup entire database configuration.png


After you clicked on it, a window will pop up, asking you where you would like to save the .sql database backup.

This backup is recommended when you wish to:

Help.png Note: If you use the ComfortUpdate functionality, a database backup is automatically created in the /tmp folder.

This option is also used when changes on different settings (e.g. in the code) are done. In this way, you secure your data in case the installation breaks up.